Noisy le Grand, une ville moderne

rechercher
Discover Noisy le Grand | HISTORY and HERITAGE | Clos Saint-Vincent Confrérie
Print

Clos Saint-Vincent Confrérie

Wine from Noisy-le-Grand was, in the Middle Ages, recognised to be one of the finest varieties of white wine, along with the vineyards of the Ile-de-France. At the beginning of the 17th century, Noisy wine gradually lost its supremacy and also its quality, to disappear at the end of the 19th century.  

The Clos Saint Vincent Wine Guild, set up in 2003, forms part of Noisy-le-Grand Tourist Office. It comprises members who have pledged to:

  • defend the image of the town of Noisy-le-Grand in general and its wine in particular;
  • support the commune in its efforts to showcase its vineyard and terroir and the history that lies behind them;
  • practise and defend conviviality with passion, good humour and good taste.

Motto
"A love for the terroir from which Clos Saint-Vincent flows must gladden any heart"


The Clos Saint-Vincent Wine Guild promotes the wine of Noisy-le-Grand through participating in all stages of the wine production process alongside staff from the town's Green Spaces, defending the highest standards of excellence in production and representing the wine and its terroir.

The Clos Saint-Vincent Wine Guild won the Ile de France silver medal for its 2004, 2006 and 2012 vintages of this culturally important wine, and the bronze medal for its 2007 vintage. It is a member of the Ile de France Region Guild Steering Committee.

First Vines in Noisy-le-Grand

In the 6th century, Gregory of Tours, who mentions Noisy-le-Grand in his History of the Franks, was the first to mention the vines at Saint-Martin Basilica, when he describes the spring frosts of 583 and 587 which damaged the vineyard. At that time, there was winegrowing in Noisy but it is hard to assess its importance or extent.

Winegrowing Boom in Noisy in the Middle Ages
In 1060, the Noisy-le-Grand Royal domain was gifted by Henry I to the monks of Saint-Martin-des-Champs Basilica. Since that time, vines were increasingly cultivated and a number of documents attest to the quality of Noisy wine. From the 13th to 14th centuries, a veritable trade in high-quality wine was built up between Noisy and Paris, with the wine being shipped to the capital by the River Marne. The grapes, planted in particular on the slopes around the upper village, were made into wine on site. The convent wine was sold by the monks and by a number of winegrowers who worked for the local aristocracy, who also sent their wine to the capital, shipping it to Paris via the Marne. A number of works in the 16th century praise this variety extremely highly.

Disappearance of the Noisy Vineyard in the 19th and 20th Centuries


The Revolution marked a turning point in the appearance of Noisy-le-Grand. Large properties were divided up into small plots of agricultural land.

Between the second half of the 19th century and 20th century, the vineyard disappeared, mainly due to the arrival of phylloxera. In 1822, the Municipal Council provided information about the quality of wine, which was deemed to be repugnant and could not be kept from one year to the next. In 1857, according to the town archives, 15 hectares of land were devoted to vineyard with a production of 225 hectolitres. In 1899, this surface area dropped from 15 to 2 hectares. In 1923, only 2000 m² of vineyard remained.

After the Second World War, during the period from 1959 to 1961, only one winegrower was known to cultivate a few vine stocks. In 1962, he declared that he had grubbed up his vines.

Recovering the Laurels of its Prestigious Past

In the year 2000, the Noisy vineyard saw its return when the local authorities decided to replant a vineyard in a town centre park. Almost 500 Sauvignon, Chardonnay and Seyval vine stocks were planted in the ancient district of Clos Saint-Vincent, and the first grape harvest took place on 28 September 2002. Since then, there have been annual harvests and the quality of this white wine, a delicious blend of three grape varieties, has improved. The past has become the present…

The Wine Guild’s Cellar

The Wine Guild’s Cellar is located in a former Villa refurbished throughout by the commune in 2010 to create a Maison des Arts et des Associations. It offers a common room, a preparation room, a laboratory and a cellar. 

It is here that the commune’s Green Spaces service, tasked with maintaining the vineyards, carries out all the different stages of the winemaking process, according to best practice. Its aim is to drive quality ever upward and improve Clos Saint-Vincent wine with each successive season.

Saint Vincent, Patron Saint of Wine Growers

 

Deacon and martyr (V 304). He was torn apart by iron hooks and he burned on a gridiron during his persecution by Diocletian. He is celebrated on 22 January, the day which decides the fate of winter and consequently of the vines. 

©C. Santin, photographe

Noisy-le-Grand Tourist Office

1, Route de Villiers - 93160 Noisy-le-Grand

Phone : 01 43 04 51 55

Reception and information fom Monday to Saturday from 9:30 to 12:30 and from 14:30 to 18:30